Flash Memory Summit
Why Attend
Why Attend

Program At-a-Glance
View Program


Press Room
Press Releases


Flash Memory Summit Lifetime Achievement Award

The Flash Memory Summit is proud to announce the 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award (LAA) honoree..

This award is presented annually at the Flash Memory Summit to individuals who have shown outstanding leadership in promoting the development and use of flash memory and associated or related technologies.

The award recognizes achievements in such areas as:

  • Leadership of a major flash company or business effort,
  • Creating or promoting an important flash technology, a flash-related technology, or a technology to supersede flash,
  • Bringing flash technology to a new and important application.

The conference organizers hope that the recognition this award brings will help foster further advances in the fastest-growing technology of the semiconductor industry.

Suggestions for 2018 LAA nominees can be directed to Brian Berg.

LAA Committee member Brian Berg, George Perlegos, LAA Committee member Jim Handy, and Micron President and CEO Sanjay Mehrotra

  • George Perlegos2017: George Perlegos, for chip design and fabrication process inventions used in EPROM, EEPROM and Flash Memory devices which have been instrumental in the ubiquity of non-volatile memory.  » Read More

  • Kinam Kim2016: Dr. Kinam Kim, for leadership, strategic direction and inventions that led to many Flash "firsts" including historic advancements in 3D NAND and high density storage.  » Read More

  • Bob Norman2015: Robert "Bob" Norman, for being the key System Architect of "System-Flash" in 1989. System-Flash uses a processor and firmware to manage the flash cells using techniques including wear leveling, error correction, low-stress write/erase and the Flash Translation Layer to make SSDs plug-compatible replacements for disk drives.  » Read More

  • Simon Sze2014: Dr. Simon Sze, for co-inventing the floating gate in 1967. Working at Bell Labs, Drs. Sze and Dawon Kahng invented a silicon device that insulated a charge which could represent a non-volatile memory bit. This was the basis of Intel's EPROM, and later the EEPROM and the Flash EEPROM.  

  • Fujio Masuoka2013: Dr. Fujio Masuoka, for the conception of flash memory in 1984. Flash Memory was a new type of EEPROM device which required only a single transistor to store data, and whose name was based on an architecture which allowed erasure of an entire memory chip in a single operation - or in a "flash."  

  • Eli Harari2012: Dr. Eli Harari, for creating a practical and reliable floating gate, and for inventions enabling data storage in flash memory. Harari discovered the thin silicon dioxide necessary for a reliable floating gate EEPROM (1976-78), and this was essential for flash memory as well. He also invented MLC flash, as well as an architecture suitable for data storage in flash (1988).  

  • Niles KynettBruce McCormickStefan LaiRichard Pashley2011: Intel’s Flash Memory Team (Dr. Richard Pashley, Dr. Stefan Lai, Bruce McCormick and Niles Kynett), for bringing to market ETOX NOR in 1988. This was first successful flash memory product, and its later generations became a multi-billion dollar business in the 1990s.  

Conference ConCepts